NWT Residents Honoured at Minister’s Cultural Circle Awards

Museum Alive! Open House

Government of the Northwest Territories
August 22, 2011

Five Northwest Territories (NWT) residents and organizations were honoured this morning at the inaugural Minister’s Cultural Circle Award Ceremony. The event took place in the South Gallery of the Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre, as a way of recognizing the important and lasting contributions of those dedicated to the arts and cultures of the North.“We live in a culturally rich land,” said the Honourable Minister of Education, Culture and Employment, Jackson Lafferty. “Arts and craftsmanship, languages and the passing on of traditional knowledge and practices weave a culturally diverse mosaic of who we are as individuals and as a territory. This year’s recipients pride themselves on making a positive and lasting impact on the lives of countless NWT residents, and I applaud them for both their outstanding achievement and passion.”

The Minister’s Cultural Circle provides lasting recognition of those contributing to the preservation and promotion of culture and heritage in the NWT. It helps build awareness amongst all northerners about the importance of promoting, protecting, preserving and celebrating our unique culture, heritage and ways of life. An independent panel of judges chose one recipient from each of the four categories with a fifth recipient receiving the Minister’s Choice Award.

The 2011 Minister’s Cultural Circle recipients are:

  • Evan Tordiff from Fort Smith – Youth Category;
  • Abel Tingmiak from Inuvik – Elder Category;
  • Ben Nind from Yellowknife – Individual Category;
  • Aklavik Delta Drummers and Dancers – Group Category; and
  • Chief Jimmy Bruneau School from Behchoko receives the Minister’s Choice Award.

More information about each recipient is available on the backgrounder.

For more information contact:

Ashley Green
Public Affairs Officer
Education, Culture and Employment
Phone: (867) 920-3059
Email: ashley_green@gov.nt.ca