Selected resources related to the 50th Anniversary of
the Government of the Northwest Territories

As compiled by the NWT Archives

Special Thanks to:

Elections NWT

Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories

Department of the Executive and Indigenous Affairs

CBC Digital Archives

People of the NWT, past and present


George Braden

June 16, 1980
January 11, 1984


Richard Nerysoo

January 11, 1984
November 5, 1985

Nick Sibbeston

November 5, 1985
November 12, 1987


Dennis Patterson

November 12, 1987
November 14, 1991


Nellie Cournoyea

November 14, 1991
November 22, 1995


Don Morin

November 22, 1995
November 26, 1998


Goo Arlooktoo

November 26, 1998
December 10, 1998


Jim Antoine

December 10, 1998
January 19, 2000


Stephen Kakfwi

January 19, 2000
December 11, 2003


Joe Handley

December 11, 2003
October 18, 2007


Floyd Roland

October 18, 2007
October 26, 2011


Bob Mcleod

October 26, 2011

Lt. Col. Frederick D. White

August 24, 1905

William W. Cory

June 27, 1919
February 17, 1931

Hugh H. Rowatt

March 31, 1931
April 30, 1934

Dr. Charles Camsell

December 3, 1936
December 3, 1946

Dr. Hugh L. Keenleyside

January 14, 1947
September 24, 1950

Maj. Gen. Hugh A. Young

November 14, 1950
November 15, 1953

R. Gordon Robertson

November 15, 1953
July 12, 1963

Bent G. Sivertz

July 12, 1963
January 16, 1967

Stuart Milton Hodgson

March 2, 1967
April 6, 1979

John Havelock Parker

April 15, 1979
July 31, 1989

Daniel L. Norris

October 2, 1989
September 30, 1994

Helen Maksagak

January 16, 1995
March 26, 1999

Daniel Joseph Marion

March 26, 1999
March 31, 2000


Glenna Hansen

March 31, 2000
April 7, 2005

Anthony W.J. Whitford

April 22, 2005
April 28, 2010

George L. Tuccaro

May 28, 2010
May 10, 2016

Margaret Thom

June 26, 2017

The following interactive timeline highlights 50 select milestones from the last 50 years.

The table below lists all the winners of legislative elections since the 1st council was convened in 1951.

Full district level results and maps from 1959 onwards can be found on the Elections NWT website:

Elections NWT

Election Date Constituency Electee Sitting Type Status

Films documenting the evolution of the Government of the Northwest Territories.

Useful resources for researching and commemorating this year’s anniversary.

Decade of Progress

Decade of Progress

“Decade of Progress” commemorates the tenth anniversary of the Government of the Northwest Territories. The book discusses six broad subject areas in which significant achievements have been made during the decade 1967-1977 in improving the lifestyles of residents of the Northwest Territories.

Challenge, Change & Commitment

Challenge, Change & Commitment

In 2007, the Northwest Territories celebrated an important milestone in its history: the establishment of the seat of government, forty years before, in Yellowknife. The story of the Northwest Territories, its territorial and Aboriginal governments, its people and its evolution, documents challenges and accomplishments, major successes and unexpected misfortunes, careful strategies and spontaneous decisions. This anniversary book highlights and tracks this story with a collection of snapshots, biographies and charts in a well put together volume.

Public Service Announcement – Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre Re-Opening

YELLOWKNIFE, NT (July 15, 2020)

The Department of Education, Culture and Employment (ECE) is pleased to announce that the Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre (PWNHC) will be re-opening to the public starting July 16.

Members of the public will be able to visit PWNHC weekly from Wednesday to Sunday, 1p.m. to 5p.m.

Le ministère de l’Éducation, de la Culture et de la Formation (MÉCF) est heureux d’annoncer

Yellowknife (TNO), le 15 juillet 2020

Le ministère de l’Éducation, de la Culture et de la Formation (MÉCF) est heureux d’annoncer que le Centre du patrimoine septentrional Prince de Galles (CPSPG) rouvrira ses portes au public le 16 juillet et accueillera les visiteurs du mercredi au dimanche, de 13 h à 17 h.