Showing 2 items for the month of July, 2015.

Minister’s Culture and Heritage Circle Nominations

Minister’s Culture and Heritage Circle Nominations

The Minister’s Cultural Circle was created in 2011 by the Honourable Jackson Lafferty, Minister of Education, Culture and Employment, to honour the efforts of residents who work to strengthen the arts, cultures and heritage of the Northwest Territories. It was renamed the Minister’s Culture and Heritage Circle in 2013.

Eligible Recipients:

  • Youth Category – Youth, 25 years of age and under, who demonstrate a strong commitment to engaging in the arts, cultural learning and cultural practices.
  • Individual Category – Individuals who demonstrate a strong commitment to preserving and promoting culture through participation in various arts, culture and heritage-related activities.
  • Elders Category – Elders, 50 years of age and older, respected for their contributions of practicing, promoting, guiding, teaching, leadership, vision, or hands-on participation in the areas of art, culture, heritage and language.
  • Group Category – Any organization, corporation, institution, organizing committee or social club that plays a lead role in developing and supporting activities that celebrate, promote or preserve the arts, culture and heritage.
  • A Minister’s Choice Award is also given to a person or group at the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment’s discretion.


  • Must be a current resident of the Northwest Territories (except where awarded posthumously)
  • Must have made a significant, long-term contribution to the arts, culture and heritage.
  • Must be independently motivated by a genuine desire to make a difference.

Deadline for this year’s nominations is August 7, 2015.

Forms can be downloaded from here.

Colouring Sheet

Ice Age Bison Colouring Contest Winners Announced!

To celebrate the opening of the Steppe Bison exhibit in June 2015, a colouring contest was held for students across the NWT.

We received an astonishing 400 entries from 14 communities!

Winners and runners-up were judged by special guest, paleoartist Julius Csotonyi.

Thank you to everyone who entered!

Age 4 and under 5 and 6 7 and 8 9 and 10 11 and 12
Winner Elliott Fast, Yellowknife Destiny Minoza, Hay River Daphnée Babiuk, Hay River Jasmine Driscoll, Yellowknife Ben Oudzi, Colville Lake
Winner Faith Vital, Nahanni Butte James Lebrecque, Fort Providence Madisen Moshenko, Hay River Sydney Bell, Yellowknife Adrianna Fay, Yellowknife
Runner Up Nevaeh Tom, Wekweètı̀ Joseph Cox, Fort Smith Peyton Yukon, Délı̨ne Davin Wedawin, Gamètı̀ Natasha, Tuktoyaktuk

And here is a list of the communities that participated:

Colville Lake
Fort Good Hope
Fort McPherson
Fort Providence
Fort Smith
Hay River
Nahanni Butte
Norman Wells